The Belgium Adventure

My hotel for the first 3 days is in Waregem, south-west Belgium. Driving in town last night, it reminded me of most Belgian towns I’ve seen – a lot of low density “new build” housing and a few older structures in the centre of town. I’m always surprised by how quiet these places are – the first question is always “where are all the people?”


Hotel Ambassade is a very quiet hotel – I think there’s only a couple of other rooms occupied, and the owner told me this morning I’ll be the only guest Sunday night. She was very happy when I told her I probably wouldn’t want breakfast until 10. This despite the 30 odd rooms available. Still, I guess unless you have a reason to be here…

Of course, no foreign adventure would be complete without, well, a little adventure. Yes, I made the most elementary mistake – forgot my license. Fortunately, I have a PDF scan of my license, sent to me by British Cycling back in January, and Waregem (even more fortunately) has both a photographers offering passport photos “while-you-wait” and a copy shop offering printing and lamination. Took me a little while to locate them, but panic over for now. I don’t think the lady who served me in Bonnet Supplies realised how relieved I was, nor that I would have paid ten times the €2.67 they charged me to make my license. I didn’t actually hug her, but the relief I felt…

First race this afternoon, looks like it may be overcast but dry. Let’s hope there’s no more drama, I’ve had my fill already.

This entry was posted in Adventure, Cycling, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

